Sports in the Programme of the Commonwealth Games

At the 2015 Commonwealth Games Federation Assembly in Auckland, New Zealand, a new sports programme was agreed for 2022, 2026 and 2030.  The sports are listed in the closing press release of the Assembly (link)

The Gold Coast 2018 sports programme (see below) is slightly different from the 2022 onwards programme.




Compulsory Sports Programme from 2022
The result of the approved changes to the sports programme (raising the number of compulsory sports at a Commonwealth Games from 10 to 16)  creates a Compulsory Sports Programme for the 2022, 2026 and 2030 editions of the Commonwealth Games comprising:

  • Aquatics (Swimming, inc Para Swimming)
  • Athletics (inc Para Athletics)
  • Badminton
  • Boxing (Men and Women)
  • Cycling (Road)
  • Gymnastics (Artistic)
  • Hockey
  • Judo
  • Lawn Bowls (inc Para Lawn Bowls)
  • Netball
  • Rugby Sevens (Men and Women)
  • Squash
  • Table Tennis
  • Triathlon
  • Wrestling
  • Weightlifting (inc Para Powerlifting)


Optional Sports/Disciplines from 2022
The introduction of a pool of Optional Sports/Disciplines comprising:

  • Aquatics (Diving)
  • Archery
  • Basketball (3×3)
  • Cricket
  • Cycling (Track, Mountain Bike, Para)
  • Gymnastics (Rhythmic)
  • Shooting (Clay Target, Pistol, Full Bore, Small Bore)
  • Para Table Tennis; Para Triathlon; Wheelchair Basketball (3×3)
  • Volleyball (Beach).

Gold Coast 2018 Programme


Related links