Team Information

Further information about the Home Nations’ teams will be published here as it becomes available
Selection policies for England, Scotland and Northern Ireland available from right-hand-side panel.
Announcement 24 April 2014 (link to news item):
Scotland have selected 14 wrestlers for the Glasgow Commonwealth Games.

The Scots are seeking a first Games medal since 1994, with twins Fiona and Donna Robertson out to improve on a string of fourth places in 2010.

The 48kg sisters, 44, took up the sport prior to the Delhi Games, having both won Commonwealth medals in their previous discipline of judo.

Jayne Clason, Kathryn Marsh, Sarah Jones, Viorel Etko and Joseph Luigi Bianco also have past Games experience.
Victor Keelan, President of the Scottish Wrestling Association, said: “The Scottish Wrestling Association is extremely proud of our athletes selected to compete for Team Scotland in the upcoming Commonwealth Games in Glasgow.

“Through their hard work and the leadership of our national coach Volodymyr Gladkov, we feel we have a strong team to lead us to success in Glasgow and create a legacy for our future wrestlers.”

Team Scotland, wrestling:

Brian Harper
Ross McFarlane
Viorel Etko
Gareth Jones
Alex Gladkov
Joseph Luigi Bianco
Lewis Waddell
Fiona Robertson
Donna Robertson
Shannon Hawke
Jayne Clason
Chelsea Murphy
Kathryn Marsh
Sarah Jones


The Team England Wrestling team was announced on 8th June

Name Event Trains Lived/From
Olga Butkevych Women’s 58kg Manchester Zaporizhia, Ukraine
Chinu Chinu Men’s 125kg Oldbury Ludhiana, India
Sophie Edwards Women’s 75kg Manchester Warrington
Michael Grundy Men’s 74kg Wigan Billinge
Sarah Grundy Women’s 58kg Wigan Wigan
Oleksandr Madyarchyk Men’s 61kg Sale Khust, Ukraine
Louisa Porogovksa Women’s 55kg Bolton Preston
George Ramm Men’s 61kg Bolton Bolton
Leon Rattigan Men’s 97kg Manchester Bristol
Yana Rattigan Women’s 48kg Manchester Khmelnitsky, Ukraine
Philip Roberts Men’s 65kg Wigan/Aspull Bolton
Chloe Spiteri Women’s 63kg London Leytonstone
Omar Tafail Men’s 57kg Birmingham London

The team will be accompanied by the following:
Team Leader: Shaun Morley
Team Coach: Anatollii Kharytoniuk
Team Physio: Rob Hamilton
There will also be two deputy Team Leaders gaining experience of multi-sports tournaments for the future, Trevor Hoskins and Eddy Kavanagh

Northern Ireland
Announcement 10th June  (Link to news item)

Norik Koczarian 65kg and Hugh McCloskey 97kg will represent Northern Ireland.
The 65kg event takes place on Wednesday 30th July with the 97kg event takming place the day before on Tuesday 29th July.

The team will be accompanied by John O’Rawe, the Northern Ireland Wrestling Association Talent Development Coach

Announcement 23rd June (link to news item)
Men’s Freestyle
57kg Craig Pilling
61kg Damion Arzu
74kg Thomas Hawthorn
86kg Oliver Cole
Women’s Freestyle
63kg Sarah Connolly
The team will be accompanied by Alan Jones as Team Manager and National Coach Arash Shojeai.


Related Links